February 25th: The Door

I don’t write poems often, especially ones that rhyme, so I thought I’d get a little practice in. I hope you like it.


The Door

I hope you don’t resent me after I chose to go through

Things have been hard, living after the chaos grew

When the things we knew became strange and uncertain

When we found the door, it was a chance to pull back the curtain

To find the truth, see the other side

After multitudes of us had died

I don’t regret what I did

Even after you saw me and hid 

I am my true self now, You can’t deny it

You kept us away by the fear you emit

The door is the answer but you said we were done

Now I’m changed, now everything is fun

I no longer walk but I slither and dash

All who threaten me I come to thrash

What my face has become is beautiful and horrid 

My old form is now stretched and distorted

Strangely, it feels like I am now what I’m meant to be

My soul is brought to the surface like foam in the sea

All who are still afraid and shaken to the core

Who still fight like we had before

Whose lives seem like just a bore

Remember that it all started with the door

2 thoughts on “February 25th: The Door

Leave a comment